Tuesday, October 06, 2009

BPN 1391 My selection of WSA Best e-Content 09 (16)

In the past weeks, I have presented my selection of the best WSA 09 entries. Every category has officially 5 entries; I have selected 2 entries per category.

The World Summit Award 09 (WSA 09) was the the fourth edition. Originally the World Summit Award is an Austrian initiative in the context of the United Nations World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS). It is an invitation project and puts the focus not on wires and computers, but on contents and applications. The best use of ICT is at the center of a unique, global contest activity in 8 categories and involving more than 160 countries.

Started in 2003 for the Geneva Summit conference, the WSA has been an unprecedented success due to the strong networking of professional associations, the national chapters of the Internet Society, multimedia education and research institutions, electronic chambers of commerce, non-governmental groups and foundations, government offices for IT and Information Society development and many others.

The WSA is the result of the active engagement of all these players in WSIS and of their shared conviction that quality contents are essential for a quality Information Society. Contents inspire, inform and allow the exchange of information and knowledge. Technology offers tools. It is a fundamental fact of the Information Society development that the performance of the tools increases faster than the human capacity to use them. This creates the Content Gap: ICT offers more capacity to produce, store and transmit than humans can use, fill, read or consume.

Participating in the WSA 09 were 157 countries. In total there were 560 entries. Divided over the categories, there were per category the following number of valid entries:
- e-Government & Institutions:79
- e-Health & Environment: 65
- e-Learning & Education: 85
- e-Entertainment & Games: 57
- e-Culture & Heritage: 72
- e-Science & Technology: 53
- e-Business & Commerce: 74
- e-Inclusion & Participation: 75

The entries were judged by an international panel of 35 experts from 33 countries during a week in New Dehli, where the jury was hosted by the government of India..
- CHRISTIAN RUPP, Austria, Federal Executive Secretary for e-Government, Austrian Federal Chancellery
- NARIMAN HAJIYEV, Azerbaijan, Project Director, National e-Governance
Network Initiative
- NAWAF MOHAMMED ABDULRAHMAN, Bahrain, Chief, Information Technology,
General Organisation for Youth & Sport
- ANANYA RAIHAN, Bangladesh, Executive Director, D.Net
- RUDI VANSNICK, Belgium, Chairman, Internet Society Belgium
- ANTHEA FOYER, Canada, Training Programmes Manager, Canadian Film Centre's Habitat New Media Lab
- DAVID BERMAN, Canada. Expert Speaker on Strategy, Ethics and Branding
- ALEX HUNG, China, Vice President, Internet Professional Association (iProA)
- BEATRIZ ELVIRA ALONSON BECERRA, Cuba, CEO, Information Technologies and Advanced Telematic Services (CITMATEL)
- STANISLAV MILER, Czech Republic, Director, Studio Trimedia
- JUAN CARLOS SOLINES MORENO, Ecuador, Partner, Solines & Asociados/Gobierno Digital
- EFFAT EL-SHOOKY, Egypt, Advistor to the Minister for International Relations, Ministry of Communciations and Information Technology, MCIT-EGYPT
- DOROTHY K. GORDON, Ghana, Director-General, Ghana-India Kofi Annan Centre of Excellence in ICT
- MARIA MERCEDES ZAGHI, Guatemala, Operations Director, Ergocom
- OSAMA MANZAR, India, Founder and Director, Digital Empowerment Foundation
- EHSSAN RIAZI ESFEHANI, Iran, IT Consultant, Hamsafar.com
- ALFREDO RONCHI, Italy, General Secretary, MEDICI Framework
- ANDREW GAKIRIA, Kenya, Coordinator, Kenya eLearning Centre
- MANAR AL-HASHASH, Kuwait, General Manager, Dot Design
- LATIF LADID, Luxembourg, President, IPv6 Forum
- RODOLFO LADDAGA, Mexico, Co-founder, You Tours
- SUBHO RAY, India, President, Internet and Mobile Association of India
- JOSEPHINE CACDAC, Indonesia & Philippines, Programs Director, Multimatics Indonesia
- SHINTA DHANUWARDOYO, Indonesia, CEO, PT Bubu Kreasi Perdana (Bubu.com)
- JAN BIERINGA, New Zealand, Director, BWX Productions
- JAK BOUMANS, Netherlands, Principal counsellor Electronic Media Reporting
- GBENGA SESAN, Nigeria, Executive Director, Paradigm Initiative, Nigeria
- ZAWAN AL-SABTI, Oman, Projects Specialist, Information Technology Authority (ITA)
- ANYA SVERDLOV, Russian Federation, Managing Director, Actis Wunderman
- LUMKO CAESARIO MTIMDE, South Africa, CEO, Media Development and Diversity Agency (MDDA)
- CHITRANGANIE MUBARAK, Sri Lanka, Programme Head, ICT Agency of Sri Lanka
- FAOUZI ZAGHBIB, Tunisia, Chairman, Tunisian ICT Federation
- SHASHANK OJHA, World Bank, Senior eGovernment Specialist
- RAJEN VARADA, United Nations, Resource Person, UN Solution Exchange

Blog Posting Number: 1391


No comments: