Saturday, December 08, 2007

EUROPRIX Multimedia Top Talent Awards 2008 (1)

The dust has settled after the EUROPRIX Top Talent Awards Gala in Graz (Austria). And the excitement has faded away. It is now time to scrutinise the 21 nominees over the next seven days. What are the entries about and what the creativity, innovation or trend is. In this posting I will present the framework of the EUROPRIX Top Talent Awards. The EUROPRIX Student’s Award was initiated in 1998. The competition was part of the EUROPRIX, an multimedia industry competition. Besides the categories for companies and institutes, there was a category for students of multimedia departments. That part of the competition was completely in the hands of students. They had there own jury to judge the entries. When the EUROPRIX was discontinued in 2001, the student’s competition was turned into a competition for young talents up to 30 years and rebranded as EUROPRIX Top Talent Award in 2002. Over the past ten years the EUROPRIX Student’s Award and its successor EUROPRIX Top talent Award has proven itself to be the first and only pan-European competition, as can be seen by the entries per country:.

Austria 22
Belgium 4
Bulgaria 8
Croatia 6
Cyprus 2
Czech Republic 5
Denmark 1
Estonia 4
Finland 7
France 16
Germany 32
Greece 4
Hungary 7
Ireland 21
Israel 11
Italy 8
Latvia 5
Lithuania 14
Malta 2
Netherlands 9
Poland 6
Portugal 3
Romania 7
Slovakia 9
Slovenia 5
Spain 1
Sweden 4
Switserland 3
Turkey 2
United Kingdom 50

The EUROPRIX Top Talent Award’s main aim is to give recognition to the most outstanding new talents using ICT for creative contents and innovative applications in Europe. The awards are dedicated to promoting young talent and finding those producers who could and in some cases already have become leading innovators in the future. The contest and the festival showcase and demonstrate innovation and imagination.

1998-Born with a broken tongue; Martin Casey (Ireland)
1999-Learning the mouse with Burbie Rocket; Graham Mitchell (UK)
2000-Rund um dem Domhof in Bremen; Jussi Steudle, Kristjan Krisjansson, Christiana Matthäi Boris Müller (Germany)
2001-s/He’ll survive; Daniel Sauter, Pepe Jürgens (Germany)
2002-Last FM; Thomas Willomitzer, Felix Miller, Martin Stiksel (Austria)
2003-Non violence project; Camille Sautel, Aurélien Coimet, Hélène Meneuvrier, Nicolas Rakotoary (France)
2004-DVD-Maxi Edelwis Müller Juicy Panic; Pauline Thomas, Christine Delaquaize, Clément Dozier, Charly Meignan (France)
2005-Guitar Shred Show; Mika Tyyskä (Finland)
2006-Outerspace; Markus Lerner (Germany)
2007-Where to climb; Luke McSorley (UK)

In the coming days I will post the nominees per category in the following order:
- Broadband/Online
- Mobile Contents
- Games
- Interactive Computer Graphics
- Interactive Installations & Interactive TV
- Content Tools & Interface Design
- Digital Video & Animations
I will be drawing on the print catalogue (see illustration of the cover on top), which is published by ICNM – International Center for New Media.
Blog Posting Number: 944


No comments: